Medium – A Social Networking Experiment

On a phone call today, my boss mentioned Medium, a social writing platform by Twitter that I had never heard of. I checked it out and found it extremely user-friendly and I was intrigued to see how it functioned. Something my boss said resonated with me: people who use Medium have higher readership than those who publish their blog content to standalone sites.

I love my WordPress site, but let’s be honest – there isn’t a ton of readership.

wp_dashboard

So I wondered, what if I took my best post and added it to Medium as an experiment to see what reached the furthest? Would it have more action? Would there be people who commented on the post?

After investigating, my “best views ever” post on this blog was called “Digital Learning? That Might Be Scary…” In that blog, I reference a friend and former colleague, Geoff Krall, who has a massive social media following. This is probably why I had a whole 68 views courtesy of his networking capabilities. Still, as the school year heads back into session, it might not be a bad content to tweak (not being Digital Learning Day and all) and seeing what happens to both his numbers and mine.

Enter the experiment. About an hour ago, I published that same blog piece on Medium. After a conversation with my blogging buddies, I realized that I needed to clarify what exactly I was testing, which in turn, had me thinking about the goals of my writing in general. In the past, I was focused on writing to share my thoughts and opinions on the edu-space, particularly in the blended and digital learning realms. But that really isn’t the purpose of this experiment.

Here, I really want to see the effects of reach, connectivity, and readership.

Medium allows three tags to classify your writing. I chose “EdTech”, “Education” and “Blended Learning”. I can do more than that in WordPress, but I am not sure it gets me the reach I am hoping for. So for reach, how far does one post go based on a limited tagging structure? To determine that, in three weeks, I will check stats by views, reads, and recs. Remember, the goal is to get more than 68 views.

I can also see who has recommended my story and choose to follow them if I’d like. Again, similar to WordPress, but it feels more networky because Medium is letting me know what type of action (including highlights, comments, and shares) that person is doing. I am also curious about the impact that the Medium post has on other social channels – including my blog space, my Twitter account (which I have linked in Medium), my new Medium network, and potentially even the impact it has on Geoff’s blog. How does the same post from my blog where I have to generate the readership compare to the embedded networking capabilities of Medium?

Does Medium spread the message to a wider audience? If so, how far? Could we possibly see the increase for both me and Geoff? What are the advantages and disadvantages of using Medium from a user standpoint as well as from a reader standpoint? Those are the sheer numbers questions I plan to look at as well. Depending on the results, I may be reevaluating where I share content in the future – just my blog, my blog and Medium, or ditch the blog altogether?

Do you use Medium? Sound off in the comments below with your thoughts on the product.

Leave a Reply

